Security cameras without Wi-Fi: which need no subscription at all

A camera can record with no Wi-Fi, but tells you nothing until it is back online. A 4G camera tells you, and brings a data plan.

Share

Last updated · source-check dates are listed at the foot of this page

A security camera without Wi-Fi can record with no subscription — and tell you nothing until it is back online. One that tells you uses a mobile network, and brings a data plan. Everything below is from each maker's own page, read 24 September 2026.

Without Wi-Fi, a camera can still record — to its own card — but nothing reaches your phone until it is back online. Match one to what you need:

Matched to what you need, not ranked. Nothing here was tested; every fact is from the maker’s own page, read 24 September 2026.

Can a security camera work without Wi-Fi and without a subscription?

Yes — it records to its own card, and nothing reaches your phone until it can get online again. A camera that does show you the picture without Wi-Fi uses a mobile network instead, and that brings a monthly bill of its own. Reolink frames the choice on its own page: it "depends on whether you mean no WiFi, no Internet, or no cloud storage". Those are three different buys.

The no-subscription half is the same answer as everywhere on this site: a camera that records to storage you own needs no plan. The no-Wi-Fi half is what this page is about.

What still works when the internet is gone?

The recording. Tapo says card recording, "including detection recording and 24/7 recording, will keep running" when the router goes, but that you "will not be able to view the live feed, play back videos, or receive detection notifications".

What each maker says a camera does when the internet is gone
MakerKeeps recording?What stopsRead
TapoYes — "including detection recording and 24/7 recording"Live feed, playback and notifications in the app24 Sep 2026
eufyYes — "record locally to an SD card or a connected base station"Remote live view and phone alerts24 Sep 2026
ReolinkYes — "to a microSD card, NVR, or DVR""Remote viewing, push alerts, and cloud storage"24 Sep 2026
LorexNot stated on the pages read—24 Sep 2026

Each maker's own FAQ or collection page, read on the date shown. Lorex's FAQ mentions the internet only for firmware updates; that is recorded as not stated rather than inferred.

That makes a camera with a card a good fit for a place where the internet comes and goes: the clip is written either way, and it is there when the connection is. What it cannot do is warn you while something is happening. The page on what each maker says to do when a camera goes offline covers the other side of the same problem.

Do you need Wi-Fi to set one up?

For Tapo, yes: "During initial configuration, Tapo cameras must be connected to a network, either by cable or wirelessly." After that, it says, the camera carries on if it loses the router.

So "no Wi-Fi" usually means no Wi-Fi where the camera is, not none anywhere. The camera is set up on a network, then carries on recording where there is none. The other makers' pages read here do not state a setup requirement either way.

Is a 4G camera subscription-free?

No cloud plan, but a data plan. Reolink puts it in five words, "SIM Card in the Box, Data Plan in Your Hand", and Tapo says a mobile data plan "adds an ongoing monthly cost worth factoring in". Neither Reolink nor eufy publishes what the data costs; both put a SIM in the box with 100 MB free and leave the rest to the carrier.

Two 4G cameras, and what their makers say about data
Reolink Go PT Ultraeufy 4G LTE Cam S330
SIM in the boxYesYes, for AT&T, T-Mobile and Verizon
Free data100 MB100 MB, for the first 7 days
After that"choose the plan that best suits you"Not stated
Maker's usage estimateNot statedAbout 700 MB a month at 10 live views and 25 recordings a day, 10 seconds each
Price of the dataNot publishedNot published

From each maker's own product and collection pages, read 24 September 2026. Neither prices the data plan, which is set by the carrier.

eufy's own page shows how easily the two bills get mixed up.

Two answers on eufy's own page, one after the other

  • "Do you have to pay a monthly fee for a security camera without WiFi or Internet?" — "No … These cameras typically use other methods, such as local storage or cellular connectivity … eliminating the need for cloud subscriptions or ongoing fees."
  • "What SIM card do I need for a security camera?" — "… you'll need a SIM card that provides data services through a cellular network … Ensure the data plan associated with the SIM is adequate for your camera's usage."

eufy, Security Cameras Without WiFi, FAQ, read 24 September 2026. Both answers are true: the first is about the cloud, the second about the carrier.

Both answers are right, which is the point: a 4G camera frees you from the cloud plan and ties you to a carrier's. Tapo's advice is to "confirm data plan requirements and monthly costs before buying".

Which cameras need no wireless network at all?

A wired PoE camera, which takes power and data down one Ethernet cable. Reolink says wired PoE systems "can also operate on a local network without Internet access", and Tapo that Ethernet and PoE cameras "can run with or without an Internet connection". The catch is the cable itself: it has to reach the camera from a router or a PoE switch.

For a garage, a shed or an outbuilding within cable reach, that is the one setup with no wireless signal to lose. For anywhere further, the choice is back to a camera that records to its card, or a 4G one.

Is there a doorbell that works without Wi-Fi?

Yes, on a cable. Reolink's Video Doorbell PoE runs on one Ethernet cable for power and data and records to a microSD card of up to 256 GB, with no monthly fee for local storage. Reolink lists the Reolink Video Doorbell PoE(paid link)as recording to a microSD card or its own recorder, and it carries a chime in the box.

Battery doorbells work differently: they use Wi-Fi, and several keep recording to their own storage when it drops — eufy says so of its doorbells. The full list is on the doorbell page, and for a rented door, the apartment page.

Which kind should you choose?

Reolink's own answer is a list: a 4G camera for remote areas, a PoE camera with a recorder for 24/7 recording, and a camera with local storage for no cloud or monthly fees. Only the last two are free of a monthly bill.

Put plainly: if you need to see the camera from elsewhere and there is no internet connection where it is, you are paying someone monthly — a carrier rather than a camera maker. If you only need the recording to exist, a camera with a card needs neither. The card slots and what each brand keeps are on the Reolink, Tapo and eufy pages.

Corrections

If a row here is wrong or has moved since the date beside it, tell us and it is corrected with the new date noted. 4G offers change often, which is why the free-data figures carry the day they were read.

The cameras for a place without Wi-Fi, one per need

Specifications as published by each maker, read 24 September 2026. Nothing was tested and nothing is ranked. The first two need no plan of any kind; the third needs no camera plan, and a mobile data plan after the free 100 MB.

TP-Link Tapo C120 (2K QHD, indoor/outdoor)Takes a card, so the plan stays optional.
Form
Small cube on a magnetic base — stands on a shelf
Power
Mains, 5V adapter — needs a socket
Video goes to
microSD in the camera, up to 512 GB
Resolution
2560 × 1440 (2K QHD, 4MP)
Check the price on Amazon(paid link)
Reolink Video Doorbell PoERuns on one Ethernet cable for power and data, so it needs no Wi-Fi, and records to a card with no monthly fee.
Form
Wired doorbell, chime included
Power
PoE — one Ethernet cable carries power and data
Video goes to
microSD up to 256 GB, or a Reolink NVR
Subscription
Not required for local storage
Check the price on Amazon(paid link)
Reolink Go PT Ultra (4G)Uses a mobile network instead of Wi-Fi. No cloud plan needed, but a mobile data plan is — the SIM in the box comes with 100 MB free.
Form
Outdoor camera that pans and tilts
Connection
4G LTE, SIM card included
Power
Battery; Reolink solar panel supported
Video goes to
microSD up to 128 GB (sold separately)
Check the price on Amazon(paid link)
SanDisk High Endurance microSDXC (with adapter)The card the without-a-subscription answer depends on.
Form
microSDXC card, full-size SD adapter included
Built for
Continuous recording — dashcams and security cameras
Goes in
The camera itself, on every brand that takes a card
Replaces
Nothing — it is what makes the free tier work
Check the price on Amazon(paid link)

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. This costs you nothing and never affects what is covered here.

How this was checked

Every statement was read from the maker's own page on 24 September 2026. eufy: https://www.eufy.com/collections/security-cameras-without-wifi, https://www.eufy.com/collections/cellular-security-camera and https://www.eufy.com/products/t86p2121. Reolink: https://store.reolink.com/us/security-cameras-without-wifi/, https://reolink.com/us/product/reolink-go-pt-ultra/ and https://reolink.com/us/product/reolink-video-doorbell-poe/. Tapo: https://www.tapo.com/us/faq/754/, https://www.tapo.com/us/news/1950/ and https://www.tapo.com/us/news/2000/. Lorex: https://www.lorex.com/pages/frequently-asked-questions.

No camera was tested, and no data plan was bought. What the camera makers' own plans cost is on the subscription tracker, each figure dated; no figure here came from a review site.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. This costs you nothing and never affects what is covered here.