Camera subscription tracker

What every home security camera plan costs, what it holds, and whether the camera records anything without it. Dated, and re-checked every week.

Curated prices and automatic source checks are different. The figures below come from the cited manufacturer pages, with their reading dates. A failed automatic check is not evidence that a company publishes no price. Missing figures remain unconfirmed rather than being filled from review sites. Last opened automatically on 19 October 2026.

25plans tracked
7 of 10pages with price text
14changes logged
19 Octoberlast checked

Which cameras work without a subscription?

The answer depends on the camera model and where it stores footage. Local recording, limited free cloud history and live-view-only access are different. The grouped readings below show those distinctions and their limits.

Works without a plan4

  • ReolinkmicroSD in the camera, FTP, or your own NVR over RTSP
  • TP-Link TapomicroSD in the camera
  • eufyHomeBase hub or the camera itself
  • LorexmicroSD, or an NVR you own

Works, with a catch4

  • WyzemicroSD in the camera — the cloud gives a still image, not a clip
  • BlinkUSB on Sync Module 2, microSD on XR — Core saves nothing
  • Google NestModel-dependent: up to 6 hours of event video previews on newer wired models, 3 hours on supported earlier models; older models may offer photo snapshots only
  • ArloNothing — cloud storage is a paid feature and Arlo publishes no local storage option

Needs the plan2

  • RingNothing — and Ring Edge, its own local storage, requires a subscription too
  • SimpliSafeNothing — camera recording needs a plan, and SimpliSafe lists no local storage

Will not say0

    What each maker does when nobody is paying

    The same ten, with what actually happens to a recording and whether the camera can tell a person from a branch on its own.

    Every maker, in one row each
    BrandRecords without a planWhere it goesPerson and vehicle alerts
    ReolinkYesmicroSD in the camera, FTP, or your own NVR over RTSPIncluded with the camera
    TP-Link TapoYesmicroSD in the cameraOn the camera
    eufyYesHomeBase hub or the camera itselfOn the camera
    LorexYesmicroSD, or an NVR you ownOn the camera
    WyzeOnly to a cardmicroSD in the camera — the cloud gives a still image, not a clipRequires a paid plan
    BlinkOnly with the right moduleUSB on Sync Module 2, microSD on XR — Core saves nothingRequires a paid plan
    Google NestDepends on the modelModel-dependent: up to 6 hours of event video previews on newer wired models, 3 hours on supported earlier models; older models may offer photo snapshots onlyDepends on the model and alert type
    RingNoNothing — and Ring Edge, its own local storage, requires a subscription tooRequires a paid plan
    ArloLive view and alerts onlyNothing — cloud storage is a paid feature and Arlo publishes no local storage optionMotion notifications, but object detection is a paid feature
    SimpliSafeLive view and arming onlyNothing — camera recording needs a plan, and SimpliSafe lists no local storageNot stated

    The last column is the one that decides whether notifications are worth reading, and on four of these brands it is a plan feature rather than something the camera does.

    What each plan costs

    Prices are US dollars, as recorded in the cited sources. The automatic check below measures access to those pages; it does not re-verify every curated figure or establish that no other price exists.

    Every plan, as published by the company selling it
    BrandPlanPer monthPer yearCamerasHolds
    WyzeCam Plus$2.99$29.99One14 days
    WyzeCam Unlimited$9.99$99.99All14 days
    WyzeCam Unlimited Pro$19.99$199.99AllUp to 60 days
    BlinkBasic$3.99$39.99OneUp to 60 days
    BlinkBasic ai$6.99$69.99OneUp to 60 days
    BlinkPlus$11.99$119.99AllUp to 60 days
    BlinkPlus ai$19.99$199.99AllUp to 60 days
    TP-Link TapoTapo Cloud$3.49$34.99Up to two30 days
    TP-Link TapoTapo Cloud Advanced$11.99$119.99All180 days
    TP-Link TapoTapo Cloud Advanced AI$19.99$199.99All180 days
    LorexConnect Cloud+ Single Camera$5.99$59.99One60 days
    LorexConnect Cloud+ Multi-Camera$16.99$169.99All60 days
    Google NestHome Premium Standard$10$100Per home30 days
    Google NestHome Premium Advanced$20$200Per home60 days
    SimpliSafeCorenot published$401.50Per homeNot stated
    RingRing Solonot publishednot publishedOneUp to 180 days
    RingRing Multinot publishednot publishedAllUp to 180 days
    RingRing Pronot publishednot publishedAllUp to 180 days
    ArloArlo Smart Aware (one camera)$9.99$95.88One60 days
    ArloArlo Smart Aware (unlimited cameras)$19.99$215.88All60 days
    ArloArlo Smart Secure (unlimited cameras)$29.99$299.98All60 days
    ArloArlo Ultra Secure (unlimited cameras)$49.99$479.88All60 days
    eufyeufy Cloud Backup Basic$3.99$39.99OneStores videos for every 30 days
    eufyeufy Cloud Backup Plus$13.99$139.99AllStores videos for every 30 days
    ReolinkReolink Cloudnot publishednot publishedOneNot readable

    Read from each maker's own page on the date shown in the sources below. An unavailable figure means it was not confirmed in the cited sources, not that no public price exists.

    Which plan pages were reachable on 19 October 2026
    BrandLast automatic checkWhat we do about it
    ArloReadablePrice text detected; curated figures need separate verification
    BlinkReadablePrice text detected; curated figures need separate verification
    eufyReadablePrice text detected; curated figures need separate verification
    LorexReadablePrice text detected; curated figures need separate verification
    Google NestReadablePrice text detected; curated figures need separate verification
    Reolink200, no figuresNo price extracted from this response
    RingHTTP 406Source could not be read; no conclusion about other pages
    SimpliSafeReadablePrice text detected; curated figures need separate verification
    TP-Link Tapo200, no figuresNo price extracted from this response
    WyzeReadablePrice text detected; curated figures need separate verification

    A weekly script opens each plan page and records what it finds. This table is its output, not ours — it says whether a page could be read, not what it said.

    What has changed

    14 changes since January, and 5 of them were announced by the company rather than found by us. That distinction is the point of the badges: on an announced change the date is the company's, and on an observed one it is the day we looked, which is not the same as the day it happened.

    1. observed
      TP-Link Tapo

      Tapo Care stopped being a plan and became the name of a service with three of them. One tier at $3.49/$34.99 became Tapo Cloud at the same prices, Tapo Cloud Advanced at $11.99/$119.99 and Tapo Cloud Advanced AI at $19.99/$199.99. Retention went from 30 days flat to 30 on the cheapest and 180 on the two above it. tools/price_watch.py reported all seven changes on the morning of 31 August 2026 and this site carried the old single-tier row for three weeks anyway.

    2. observed
      Wyze

      Cam Plus Lite confirmed closed to new users and unavailable on any camera released after April 2022, so no current Wyze camera has a free event-video tier.

    3. observed
      all

      Every plan page re-read in one pass and compared against what this site publishes. Twenty-one of the twenty-three figures were unchanged since 20 August. The two that moved were not prices: Wyze's three annual figures were cited to /pages/service-plans, which carries no annual column at all, so a reader checking $99.99 landed on a page reading $99. They now cite the product pages the figures were actually read from.

    4. observed
      eufy

      Correction to the row above, which was wrong. eufy does publish its plan prices, at www.eufy.com/cloud-storage — Basic at $3.99 a month or $39.99 a year for one device, Plus at $13.99 or $139.99 for all of them. The membership URL this site had on file 404s, and that was recorded as the company having stopped publishing. A URL we cannot find is not the same finding as a price that does not exist.

    5. announced
      Ring

      Camera names change from generational labels to resolution: Outdoor Cam (2nd Gen) becomes Outdoor Cam 2K, Spotlight Cam Pro (2nd Gen) becomes Spotlight Cam 4K Pro.

    6. observed
      eufy

      Every documented membership URL returns 404 and the storefront redirects to product listings, so eufy no longer publishes plan prices anywhere we can read.

    7. observed
      Reolink

      Plan pricing has moved inside a signed-in application. cloud.reolink.com renders, but no public page carries a figure.

    8. observed
      Blink

      The plans page moved from /pages/subscription, which now 404s, to /plans — so links published before this go nowhere.

    9. observed
      Ring

      ring.com/pages/plans returns HTTP 406 to anything that is not an interactive browser, and has on every check since.

    10. observed
      Google Nest

      Nest Aware is renamed Google Home Premium, with the tiers called Standard and Advanced rather than Aware and Aware Plus.

    11. announced
      Ring

      Doorbell names change: Battery Doorbell (2nd Gen) becomes Battery Doorbell 2K, Wired Doorbell Pro (3rd Gen) becomes Wired Doorbell 4K Pro.

    12. announced
      Ring

      Wired Doorbell Elite (2nd Gen) becomes Wired Doorbell 4K Elite.

    13. announced
      Wyze

      Cam Plus annual rises from $19.99 to $29.99, a 50% increase. The monthly price does not move, so the annual discount falls from 44% to 16%.

    14. announced
      Ring

      Ring Home plans renamed Ring Protect. Home Basic becomes Ring Solo, Home Standard becomes Ring Multi, Home Standard with 24/7 monitoring becomes Ring Pro, Home Premium becomes Premium Legacy.

    Where these figures come from

    20 pages, all of them published by the company whose prices they carry. Every figure was read from one of these on the date recorded against it. Nothing here is quoted from a review site, and nothing is carried over from an older article without being re-read.

    • blinkforhome.com1
    • cloud.reolink.com1
    • eufy.com1 2
    • lorex.com1
    • ring.com1 2 3 4
    • simplisafe.com1
    • store.google.com1
    • support.blinkforhome.com1
    • support.google.com1
    • support.reolink.com1
    • support.simplisafe.com1
    • support.wyze.com1
    • tapo.com1
    • us.arlo.com1 2
    • wyze.com1

    Corrections

    If a figure here is wrong, or a company has changed something this page has not caught, tell us and it is corrected with the new date noted. That is the entire point of dating them.

    As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. This costs you nothing and never affects what is covered here.