Do Wyze doorbells need a subscription?
No — the live feed is free on all four. Keeping the video is the part that costs, and on two of them the free way to keep it means hardwiring a battery doorbell.
Last updated · source-check dates are listed at the foot of this page
On this page
No. The live feed is free on every current Wyze doorbell, with two-way audio and a notification when it sees something.
Keeping the video is the part that costs — and Wyze's four doorbells do not give the same answer about how to avoid paying for it.
If you can run a wire, the answer on this page is a microSD card and nothing else. If you cannot, no Wyze doorbell keeps video without a plan — and this is the nearest thing to a way out: it records to a card on battery power, with no wire and nothing monthly.
Check the price on AmazonReolink Argus 4 Pro(paid link)Do you have to pay to see the live feed on a Wyze doorbell?
No. Live view is free on every current Wyze doorbell, and so is a notification when the doorbell sees something. What a subscription changes is what you get to keep: Wyze states that without one you see thumbnails on the Events tab rather than Event videos.
| Feature | Without Cam Plus | Where Wyze says so |
|---|---|---|
| Live view | Yes | Listed on every doorbell product page |
| Two-way audio | Yes | Listed on every doorbell product page |
| Motion notification | Yes | Its own feature lists |
| A still image of the event | Yes | Support: thumbnails on Events |
| The video clip of the event | No | Support: “rather than Event videos” |
| Recording to a card | Model and power dependent | Product pages |
The thumbnail rows are from https://support.wyze.com/hc/en-us/articles/23791308908571-Can-I-still-access-the-Events-tab-without-a-subscription, which Wyze marks as updated four months before it was read. This is the same free tier the Wyze camera page describes — the doorbells differ only in where the video can go instead.
That last pair of rows is the whole subscription in one sentence. Somebody rings the bell, you get told, and you get a photograph of the moment rather than the clip. Every brand this site tracks alerts you for free; what the plan buys is the thing inside the alert.
Which Wyze doorbells take a microSD card?
Three of the four, but only one without a condition. The wired Video Doorbell v2 is listed as compatible with a 32GB microSD card. The Battery Video Doorbell and the Duo Cam Doorbell both support a card only with continuous wired power. The Video Doorbell Pro does not mention a card on its product page at all.
| Doorbell | Power | Records to a card? | Wyze's own wording |
|---|---|---|---|
| Video Doorbell v2 | Wired | Yes | “Compatible With MicroSD Card 32GB” |
| Battery Video Doorbell | Battery or wired | Only if wired | “local recording (continuous wired power required)” |
| Duo Cam Doorbell | Battery or wired | Only if wired | “you must add a microSD card and hardwire the doorbell cam” |
| Video Doorbell Pro | Wired or battery | Not stated | no microSD card is mentioned on the product page |
Each row is from that doorbell's own product page on wyze.com. The Pro row says “not stated” rather than “no”, because a page that does not mention a card is not the same as a maker saying there isn't one — though on this question the silence is the answer a buyer has to plan around.
This is worth reading twice if you are shopping. The model names do not tell you the answer, the price does not tell you the answer, and the difference between the two cheapest ways to skip the subscription is whether there is a wire behind your door frame.
Can a Wyze battery doorbell record without a subscription?
Only if you hardwire it. Wyze's own product page offers local recording on the Battery Video Doorbell with the words "continuous wired power required" in brackets, and the Duo Cam page says you must add a card and hardwire the doorbell cam. A battery doorbell left on its battery keeps nothing without a plan.
The sentence in brackets
- Battery Video Doorbell — "Don't miss a thing with local recording (continuous wired power required) with a microSD card up to 256GB (sold separately)."
- Duo Cam Doorbell — "Record 24/7 locally with a microSD card (sold separately; hardwiring required)." Elsewhere on the same page: "for local recording you must add a microSD card and hardwire the doorbell cam."
- What that means — the feature that replaces the subscription is available on a battery doorbell only once it stops running on its battery. Wyze does print it. It prints it in brackets, after the promise.
All quoted from the two product pages, read 18 September 2026. Neither statement is hidden and neither is false; both sit after the sentence that sells the feature.
Nothing there is concealed and nothing there is untrue. It is a qualification printed after the promise it qualifies, on a product whose entire appeal is that it does not need wiring — and it is the difference between a doorbell that costs $29.99 a year and one that does not.
What do you get on a Wyze doorbell without Cam Plus?
Live view, two-way audio and a motion notification, plus a still image of the event rather than the clip. Wyze's support page puts it plainly: your Events still appear, but you see thumbnails rather than Event videos.
That is more than a Wyze camera with no card loses, because a camera can take a card on any power source. On a doorbell the same free tier bites harder, since the fallback storage depends on how the thing is powered.
| Plan | Monthly | Yearly | Covers |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cam Plus | $2.99 | $29.99 | One camera |
| Cam Unlimited | $9.99 | $99.99 | All cameras |
| Cam Unlimited Pro | $19.99 | $199.99 | All cameras |
Wyze's own published rates, also set out on the tracker. A single doorbell on Cam Plus is $29.99 a year against a microSD card bought once — which is the whole calculation, on the two models where a card is an option without rewiring anything.
Which Wyze doorbell makes most sense if you will not subscribe?
The wired Video Doorbell v2, because it is the only one whose local recording carries no extra condition. If a wire is out of the question, no Wyze doorbell keeps video without a plan — and that is a reason to look at a camera that records to a card on battery power.
Put against the plan: Cam Plus is $29.99 a year for one device. A microSD card is bought once. On the v2 that comparison is straightforward. On the battery models it is only available to somebody willing to run a wire, and on the Pro it is not available at all. Wyze has also raised the Cam Plus annual price before, which is worth knowing before treating $29.99 as fixed.
If the answer was the card
Specifications as published by each maker, read 18 September 2026. Nothing was tested and nothing is ranked. On a wired Wyze doorbell a card is the whole answer. On a battery one it is not, which is why these two are here: both record to a card on battery power, with no wire and no plan.
- Form
- Small cube on a magnetic base — stands on a shelf
- Power
- Mains, 5V adapter — needs a socket
- Video goes to
- microSD in the camera, up to 512 GB
- Resolution
- 2560 × 1440 (2K QHD, 4MP)
- Form
- Outdoor camera on a bracket
- Power
- 5000 mAh battery, optional 6W solar panel
- Video goes to
- microSD in the camera, up to 512 GB
- Subscription
- Not required for local recording
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. This costs you nothing and never affects what is covered here.
How this was checked
No doorbells were tested and no plan was purchased. The four models, their power options and every quoted sentence about local recording were read on 18 September 2026 from Wyze's own product pages: the Video Doorbell v2, the Battery Video Doorbell, the Duo Cam Doorbell and the Video Doorbell Pro.
The thumbnails-not-videos wording is from Wyze's support article on the Events tab without a subscription, read the same day. The plan prices are from https://www.wyze.com/pages/service-plans and are set out with their dates on the tracker.
Wyze's older Video Doorbell v1 is not in the table because wyze.com/products/wyze-video-doorbell now returns 404. Our Wyze page described the doorbell line as that model and the Pro, which was right when it was written on 22 August 2026 and is not right now; it was corrected the day this was published. If Wyze changes what any of these models supports, this page gets the new answer and a new date.